369 St Asaph Street, Christchurch, Tel: 64 3 377 7954

Les Misérables - the Musical

Great drama never gets old

The epic tale of broken dreams, passion and redemption set against a nation in the throes of revolution.

Winner of over 100 international awards and seen by over 65 million people worldwide, Les Misérables is an epic and uplifting story about the survival of the human spirit. This true modern classic is based on Victor Hugo’s novel and features one of the most memorable scores of all time.

In nineteenth century France, Jean Valjean is released from 19 years of unjust imprisonment, but finds nothing in store for him but mistrust and mistreatment. He breaks his parole in hopes of starting a new life, initiating a lifelong struggle for redemption relentlessly pursued by police inspector Javert.

Epic, grand and uplifting, Les Misérables packs an emotional wallop that has thrilled audiences all over the world. This pop opera features a cast of exceptional singers and overflows with melodies.

A spectacle on Broadway and the West End, Les Misérables is a powerful affirmation of the human spirit that has become a popular masterpiece.

This Showbiz production will be directed by Stephen Robertson with musical direction by Richard Marrett.

Please Note: This production includes gunfire, smoke and flashing light effects. It deals with violence, death, suicide and prostitution, and is not recommended for very young or sensitive viewers as the content may disturb.

Les Misérables is entrenched in our culture as a musical for the ages

Huffington Post

Principal Cast:

Daniel Belle
Jean Valjean

James Foster

Kira Josephson

Fergus Inder

Jacqueline Doherty

Jack Fraser

Rebecca Malcolm
Madame Thénardier

Ben Freeth
Monsieur Thénardier

Monique Clementson


Conductor: Richard Marrett
Violin: Lucienne Shelley
Viola: Sandy Radford and Pippa Mills


Cello: Iain Brandram-Adams
Flute: Elvira Dommisse
Clarinet: Georgina Rees-Stevenson
Oboe: Susan McKeitch


Trumpet: Thomas Eves and Cameron Pearce
Trombone: Scott Taitoko
Bass: Michael Story
Percussion: Craig Given


Keyboard 1: Matthew Everingham
Keyboard 2: William Buffham
Horn 1: Julian Weir
Horn 2: Brooke Prendergast