My Fair Lady

About the show

My Fair Lady is based on George Bernard Shaw's Pygmalion, with book and lyrics by Alan Jay Lerner and music by Frederick Loewe.

A Cinderella story about the Cockney flower girl, Eliza Doolittle, and the appealingly arrogant phoneticist, Professor Higgins, is an endearing tale that charms audiences with its warmth and vivid characters. The clash of cultures sparks some of the theatre's most jubilant songs and witty dialogue.

The triumphant score features unforgettable numbers including 'Wouldn't It Be Loverly?', 'On the Street Where You Live', 'I Could Have Danced All Night', and 'Get Me to the Church on Time'.

The musical's 1956 Broadway production was a notable critical and popular success. It set a record for the longest run of any show on Broadway up to that time.

When My Fair Lady was first performed in Christchurch in 1962, it set the all-time record at the Theatre Royal for attendance, running for an extraordinary 171 performances, to an audience of 200,000 patrons.

The show has recently enjoyed enormous success with sold-out revival seasons on Broadway, in Sydney and Melbourne. Showbiz Christchurch is delighted to bring a stunning new production of this much loved classic back to Christchurch audiences.

My Fair Lady will be staged at the Isaac Theatre Royal from the 21st-30th of September 2023 and will feature the Christchurch Symphony Orchestra.

Tickets are available through Ticketek now!

Artistic team

  • Director: Stephen Robertson
  • Musical Director: Richard Marrett
  • Choreographer: Glen Harris
My Fair Lady

Cast list

Eliza Doolittle Emily Burns
Eliza Doolittle
Laurel Gregory
Henry Higgins Michael Lee Porter
Colonel Pickering Warwick Shillito
Freddy Eynsford-Hill Cameron Melville
Alfred P. Doolittle John Clarke
Harry Chris Goodyear


Queen of Transylvania Sarah Buchanan
Mrs Higgins Angela Johnson
Mrs Eynsford-Hill Rebecca Boyce
Prof Zoltan Karpathy Nathan Munn
Mrs Pearce Libby Fraser
Jamie Jake McKay
Male Ensemble

Taylor Ballantyne
Daniel Harris
Nic Catto
Joshua Dickens
Oliver Davidson
Lawrence Botting
Austin Jenks
Lennox Dunn
Leon Vant Veen Gibbon

Female Ensemble

Bianca Escobar
Anna Henderson
Lorraine Turner
Kristina Saul
Juliette Newman
Imogen Edwards
Siani Wyatt
Rylie MacGibbon
Meredith Jackson
Jane Godfrey
Holly Palmer
Ruth Bishop